There are a number of courses within the ITIL framework that could be of interest to study. The diagram above looks to provide some insight into the overall certification structure.


The foundation course is a prerequisite for attendance in any of the other ITIL courses. The foundation course covers basic terms and definitions as well as providing attendees a overview of the service lifecycle. 

Who should attend?

Anyone in IT that will be affected by a decision to start to implement any of the best practices outlined in the ITIL framework. This could include but is not limited to:

  • Service Desk staff
  • Engineers
  • Technicians
  • Architects
  • Managers within IT
  • Developers
  • Operations staff
  • Business Analysts
  • Service Management tool administrators
  • Facilities management staff

The Foundation course is 2.5 days in duration and is worth 2 credits toward the expert credential.

Intermediate Courses

The Intermediate level courses advance the individuals understanding of the best practice from that of someone who is familiar with basic concepts to actually being able to start to apply these concepts in an organization. 

The intermediate level courses are broken into different sessions based on two models. Lifecycle courses are all 3 days in duration and focus on a review of a particular stage in the service lifecycle. Capability courses are 5 days in duration and provide and opportunity to discuss topics without restricting the topic to best practices that occur only in one stage. 

Lifecycle Courses

The lifecycle courses are broken into 5 specific offerings based on the best practices in a particular stage:

  • Service strategy
  • Service design
  • Service transition
  • Service operation
  • Continual service improvement

Who should attend?

  • Managers within IT that are not going to be process owners or process managers
  • Internal ITSM consultants
  • External ITSM consultants
  • Directors
  • Vice Presidents
  • Anyone who needs to understand the best practices within a particular stage at a greater level of detail

Capability Courses

Capability courses are longer in duration and as such afford a much deeper dive into the best practice. There is more opportunity for discussion and exercises which helps the attendee absorb and integrate the material.

The capability courses are broken down in to 4 groups:

Who should attend?

  • Managers within IT that are going to be appointed as process owners or process managers
  • Anyone in IT with management responsibility
  • Anyone who is going to be leading an ITSM initiative 

Managing Across the Lifecycle

The Managing Across the Lifecycle course is the capstone training event for the ITIL framework. This course is 5 days in duration and is focused on teaching attendees best practices in leading and ITSM implementation, improving an existing ITSM practice, and changing the culture of an organization to focus on creating value for Customers through services.

To be eligible to attend this course, you must possess the foundation certificate as well as have accumulated a minimum of 15 credits at the intermediate level by attending accredited courses and successfully completing the associated examinations. 

Note* It is not required that you take all of the lifecycle or all of the capability courses only. You may mix and match lifecycle and capability courses. To give yourself the best advantage, you will want to ensure that your training covers each stage of the service lifecycle.


Once you complete the Managing Across the Lifecycle course and pass the examination you will have earned  at least 22 credits and will be recognized by the accredited examination organization as an ITIL Expert.